National Day of the American Cowboy

Search Our Site

Join us at Ogden Pioneer Days on Friday, July 22, 2016 to tip our collective hats to Utahns who have done so much to preserve America’s cowboy culture. At the outset of the rodeo, we will honor cowboys and cowgirls from almost every county in Utah for their contributions to the preservation of our western heritage. It’s our way of celebrating the National Day of the Cowboy.

004690529484019 n

The mission of the National Day of the Cowboy nonprofit organization is to contribute to the preservation of America’s cowboy heritage so that the history and the culture can be shared and perpetuated for the public good, through education, the arts, celebrations, gatherings, rodeos, and community activities. Here is the list of the men and women who will be honored at this year's Ogden Pioneer Days celebration:


  • Beaver — Cody Wright
  • Box Elder — Milt Oman
  • Cache — Trish Gibbs
  • Carbon — Clyde McCourt
  • Daggett — Bob McKee
  • Davis — David T. Hill
  • Duchesne — LaVon Giles
  • Emery — Led McElprang
  • Garfield — Mike Tebbs                                
  • Iron —Brett Whittier
  • Juab  — Tammy Knickerbocker
  • Rich — Brett L. Argyle
  • Salt Lake — Jill Parker Atkinson
  • San Juan — Alan Hatch
  • Sanpete — Scott Terry                                  
  • Summit  — Don Weller
  • Tooele — Clint Robinson
  • Wasatch — Nancy Cummings
  • Washington — Larry H Gardner
  • Weber —Larry Sanders

99036613657685576 n